It should have been a graduation speech !

From my early years, I was  fascinated by machines, always wanting to learn and know more and more about them. No matter how small or big the machine was, all I desired to do was to dismantle it, see what it consisted of and how its mechanisms worked. This was also the prime intention that drew me towards the field of engineering. But my college not only taught me about machines but it has also taught me about basic human values and conduct necessary for life. I have learnt so much about my field, my interests, and most importantly, about myself. If I were to go back in time and look at a younger version of me, I don’t suppose I’d recognize her.

I lived in a seemingly small world, consisting of only school and home. As I entered engineering, I realized that the world was a much larger place than I had previously envisioned. I was really scared to be exposed to this new world that was all so new. The world was now so large and consisted of a variety of new things beyond my wildest imaginations.

Well, I started losing the fear after the teachers spoke to me and I started making friends. The first year was similar to school life, it had strict rules, a lot of written work and reprimands too. I was blessed with brilliant lecturers and a strict HOD. I remember Physics lab being a nightmare, since I always messed up the experiments. I faced difficulty in learning and eventually my scores dropped in the first semester. Later on, encouragement from teachers and my classmates helped me to score well in the coming semesters.

In addition to learning practical skills, my stay  has also taught me a lot about science, nature, sports and people. For instance, I had the privilege to represent Acharya in the zonal and inter zonal Kho Kho and kabbadi championship. I was an active player in the team and our college bagged numerous prizes. I was encouraged by the sports department and also by my department.  Although I had to miss a lot of classes during practice, my HOD and lecturers never ceased to support me.

It is really nice to see how Acharya is a mixed bag of people from various countries and culture. I had the opportunity to meet a lot of people and learn about different religious ideas and practices. This has been a valuable take away as it helped clear certain misconceptions that I previously had. It has also given me a better understanding of various beliefs and traditions and has made my stay in Acharya more enriching and worthwhile.

The college is always bustling with activity, both academic and co-curricular, with a hint of celebration all year long. The celebrations start from January and it never ceases to end. The duration of our college fest, replete with wonderful competitions and activities, has been a highlight. I was always an active participant in Spell-Bee, quiz competitions and also treasure hunts. This was the most enjoyable part of my stay here.

During the first two years of my stay, I used to hang out with the senior group much rather than my classmates. it was fun , i got to try new things and also picked up different accents .

3rd to 6th semester consisted of lot of fun filled activities .Road trips ,movies ,never ending craving for food and a hell lot of friend( WO na mere friend ke gf ke school friend ke friend so mera be friend – you know what i mean )

My favorite part of the entire college experience has been the bus group . Yes ! i traveled by college bus for 3 years . I met different kinds of people ,starting from a innocent looking senior to a bossy junior. To all the seniors and juniors who know me .. you guys are precious. You have given me everything beyond my imagination.. the ragging (not really ) the road trips ,movies ,fights ,mili militia and what not .. i can go on forever.Chat street being the usual adda 😀

My experience at Acharya, particularly the yearlong internship program at Kennametal India Ltd., has enabled me to gain a working understanding of the code and conduct required in an industry. Had I made the decision not to attend, I would know very little about Mechanical Engineering based industries. The discipline, the team work, an employee’s effort that drives a company, have certainly inspired me. Interning at an industry has given me an insight into what it takes to live as an engineer. This knowledge is not only interesting but will almost certainly help me be a more versatile and flexible engineer, thus improving my career.

Company placements at Acharya is no small thing. From the beginning of 3rd semester till the ending of our 7th semester, we were all given placement training. Companies came in like a flood during the 7th and 8th semester of our stay. It was certainly a tense time, since I had to face the harsh workings of an interview. But as the saying goes, handwork pays, I was placed in two companies and so were my friends.

Its almost the end of 8th semester ,but i still feel like i am in the 1st sem. Time passed by  so quickly before i could even realize that we all grew up . I cant take individual names to thank for being a part of this wonderful journey of mine. I would like to thank each and everyone for being there for me ,if i have hurt you with or without my knowledge i would like to apologize and to everyone out there reading this .. thank you for everything and may all the happiness be yours .

My time here has enriched my life in many different ways. It has provided me with the necessary tools to further enhance my skills, given me valuable knowledge about this diverse world and its people.

3 thoughts on “It should have been a graduation speech !”

  1. Can’t imagine four years have gone just like that. I would remember you for being the student boarding from Vijaynagar water tank busstop. Who would wish me GOOD MORNING, no matter whether I would look at you or not.
    Those very FIRST GOOD MORNING wishes of the day, made my days lil gal (although
    you have grown up, I am taking the liberty to call you so) 😊.
    I also remember you and your friends struggling hard in the Workshop lab in the first year. Can’t imagine you are the same girl, who is graduating in few more days. Happy for you and your friends. And thanks to VTU. We can expect to see you folks for few more days in the campus.

    Wish you a great success and prosperous future!
    Keep in touch!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment